Small Business

Enterprise guide to Windows 10

Windows 10 is now available for consumers, but for IT executives thinking about enterprise deployments, here's what the upgrade path from Window 7 or Windows 8/8.1 looks like.

By Tom Henderson | 03 August, 2015 20:06

Tags: Windows, software, Windows 10, Network World, operating systems

Review: The Nobel 1.0 -- stereolithographic 3D printing on the cheap

When I unboxed XYZPrinting's Nobel 1.0 stereolithographic (SLA) 3D printer, I'd just finished shipping off another top-rated and remarkably accurate SLA machine, the Formlabs Form 1+.

By Lucas Mearian | 21 July, 2015 20:23

Tags: peripherals, XYZPrinting, Printers, 3D printers, 3d printing

First Look: Amazon Echo: Novelty item or ready-for-prime-time part of your digital life?

Our Amazon Echo, a voice-controlled appliance--for want of a better word--arrived on May 17 and we've been using it all week. As Prime members, we paid $100 for ours, but the list price is $200. While some parts are beautifully done, the information services at the back end have a long way to go before the Echo is more than a novelty.

By Joel Snyder | 01 June, 2015 20:09

Tags: amazon.com, Networking, wireless, Alexa

Review: Windows 10 Insider Preview -- a nearly finished OS

Microsoft has been racing to put the final touches on Windows 10 before its expected release date in late July. There have been three public updates in the last month: Builds 10061, 10074 and 10122. At this point, the interface and features for the new operating system are essentially set -- on May 20, Gabe Aul, engineering general manager at Microsoft, wrote about build 10122 on the company's official blog: "From here on out you'll see fewer big feature changes from build to build, and more tuning, tweaking, stabilizing, and polishing."

By Preston Gralla | 26 May, 2015 20:41

Tags: Microsoft Windows, Microsoft, Windows, Windows 10, software, operating systems

7 free Wi-Fi stumbling and surveying tools for Windows and Mac

Following up on our previous article highlighting 8 free Wi-Fi stumbling and surveying tools, here are 7 more tools that provide important details on known and unknown aspects of your WiFi network.

By Eric Geier | 26 May, 2015 20:13

Tags: Wi-Fi, Macs, Networking, airmagnet, wireless, WLANs / Wi-Fi

Review: Formlabs Form 1+ 3D printer offers mind-blowing precision (video)

The Formlabs Form 1+ 3D printer ($3,299) is elegant in its simplicity, and more capable of producing accurate models with detailed intricacy than any other 3D printer I've reviewed.

By Lucas Mearian | 19 May, 2015 20:39

Tags: peripherals, Printers, 3D printers, 3d printing, beca

Linksys WRT1200AC: A fast, full-featured, open-source-friendly router

Sometimes, less is truly more. When it comes to the Linksys WRT1200AC, the little brother to the WRT1900AC router introduced last year, it might be best to say less is just enough.

By Serdar Yegulalp | 02 May, 2015 06:18

Tags: peripherals, Modems, Linksys

Review: The Aircharge Wireless Charging Case for the iPhone 6 is hard to resist

When I bought my iPhone 6 earlier this year, I also purchased a simple, transparent case to protect it; the case cost me $35.

By Lucas Mearian | 30 April, 2015 23:27

Tags: peripherals, Mophie, Apple, computer hardware, Adapters and chargers

Review: Docker Swarm soars, and the sky's the limit

It's a well-known fact that deploying and managing anything at scale is hard. Docker is no different. However, the engineers at Docker recognize this and are working on three products to help: Docker Machine, Docker Compose, and Docker Swarm.

By Nigel Poulton | 23 April, 2015 20:06

Tags: Linux, Docker, swarm, software, operating systems

Review: The da Vinci Junior is the Easy-Bake oven of 3D printers

XYZprinting has been making hay by offering some of the most affordable consumer plug-and-play 3D printers, shipping 30,000 of its da Vinci model machines last year.

By Lucas Mearian | 16 April, 2015 04:10

Tags: peripherals, XYZPrinting, Printers, 3D printers, 3d printing

Review: Office 2016 for Mac offers a new interface and better features

Mac users of Office who have felt left out in the cold by Microsoft (because the last version, Office 2011 for Mac, was released in October 2010) now have reason to be pleased: The preview of Office 2016 for Mac attempts to bring the suite out of the dark ages and into the modern world.

By Preston Gralla | 02 April, 2015 00:38

Tags: Mac apps, applications, Microsoft, software, microsoft office, Office suites

First look: Project Spartan, Microsoft's next-generation Web browser

Microsoft's faster release schedule for its Windows 10 Technical Preview kicked into high gear yesterday with the release of another build a mere 12 days after 10041. This time, with build 10049, Microsoft has added one of Windows 10's major new features: its next-generation Web browser.

By Simon Bisson | 31 March, 2015 21:08

Tags: Microsoft Windows, Microsoft, Windows, software, operating systems

First look: Microsoft's Office 2016 IT Pro and Developer Preview

The first glance at the future of Office for Windows is here, in the form of the Office 2016 IT Pro and Developer Preview. It's the initial public iteration of the suite that will be released sometime in the second half of 2015, so at this point it's very much a work in progress.

By Preston Gralla | 27 March, 2015 05:50

Tags: Microsoft Windows, Microsoft, Windows, Windows 10, software, operating systems, e3

Break me if you can: 4 rugged tablets put to the test

It's a cruel world out there for tablets: Every day, there's the possibility they will be dropped, knocked, spilled on or just shaken around. And that's just in a normal business day -- if you use your tablet outdoors, while traveling or in a work zone, the odds of a disaster go up precipitously.

By Brian Nadel | 03 March, 2015 22:35

Tags: consumer electronics, Panasonic, smartphones, Windows, hardware systems, Android, tablets, software, operating systems, Line

Windows 10 deep-dive review: Finally, a unified operating system

The second preview release of Windows 10 begins to flesh out Microsoft's vision of an operating system that bridges the gap between traditional PCs and touch-based tablets -- something it failed at dismally in Windows 8. More than that, the new release reveals a single operating system that shape-shifts according to the device it's running on, be that a PC, a tablet or a phone.

By Preston Gralla | 29 January, 2015 22:38

Tags: Microsoft Windows, Microsoft, Windows, Windows 10, software, operating systems

8 Wi-Fi mistakes to avoid

Wi-Fi is great when it works right and when it's secure. Although setting up Wi-Fi can seem straightforward, there are many complexities. For example, not performing proper surveys, design work, and maintenance or ignoring security issues can cause major problems.

By Eric Geier | 26 January, 2015 22:23

Tags: Wi-Fi, Networking, wireless, WLANs / Wi-Fi

Technology of the Year 2015: The best hardware and software of the year

Like InfoWorld itself, InfoWorld's Technology of the Year Awards have always been about change. We keep an eye out for the platforms and tools pushing against the barriers in application development, mobile, cloud computing, and in other corners of information technology, and we bring them in for review. At the end of the year, we get together and decide which are the very best.

By Doug Dineley | 26 January, 2015 22:11

Tags: application development, IBM, software, infoworld

LulzBot Mini 3D printer delivers outstanding details

There are about a dozen metrics by which I judge 3D printers when testing them, including speed, noise and the materials with which they can print.

By Lucas Mearian | 15 January, 2015 08:16

Tags: peripherals, Printers, 3D printers, 3D Systems, Aleph Objects

CentOS 7: The perfect gift for the Linux do-it-yourselfer

Although differentiation is tough in Linux distributions today, CentOS 7 has carved out a niche as the free and open alter ego to Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL). We found that CentOS, which is mandated to be binary-compatible with Red Hat 7, shares about 95% of the features of its commercial enterprise-class sibling.

By Tom Henderson | 22 December, 2014 22:09

Tags: CoreOS, Linux, IBM, software, Red Hat, operating systems, ubuntu

Review reloaded: The da Vinci all-in-one 3D printer disappoints

After spending a week with the new da Vinci 1.0 AiO all-in-one 3D printer, I've decided that first impressions can be deceiving.

By Lucas Mearian | 06 November, 2014 09:25

Tags: peripherals, Printers, 3D printers, 3d printing

Top Whitepapers

Featured Whitepapers