Techworld

Software

Windows 10 deep-dive review: Finally, a unified operating system

The second preview release of Windows 10 begins to flesh out Microsoft's vision of an operating system that bridges the gap between traditional PCs and touch-based tablets -- something it failed at dismally in Windows 8. More than that, the new release reveals a single operating system that shape-shifts according to the device it's running on, be that a PC, a tablet or a phone.

By Preston Gralla | 29 January, 2015 22:38

Tags: Microsoft Windows, Microsoft, Windows, Windows 10, software, operating systems

Technology of the Year 2015: The best hardware and software of the year

Like InfoWorld itself, InfoWorld's Technology of the Year Awards have always been about change. We keep an eye out for the platforms and tools pushing against the barriers in application development, mobile, cloud computing, and in other corners of information technology, and we bring them in for review. At the end of the year, we get together and decide which are the very best.

By Doug Dineley | 26 January, 2015 22:11

Tags: application development, IBM, software, infoworld

Dell Venue 8 7000 review: A distinctive and premium Android tablet

Android tablets are a dime a dozen these days. Look in any electronics store and you'll see a sea of virtually indistinguishable slates, few of which manage to stand out.

By JR Raphael | 23 January, 2015 04:53

Tags: Dell, Google, hardware systems, tablets

CentOS 7: The perfect gift for the Linux do-it-yourselfer

Although differentiation is tough in Linux distributions today, CentOS 7 has carved out a niche as the free and open alter ego to Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL). We found that CentOS, which is mandated to be binary-compatible with Red Hat 7, shares about 95% of the features of its commercial enterprise-class sibling.

By Tom Henderson | 22 December, 2014 22:09

Tags: CoreOS, Linux, IBM, software, Red Hat, operating systems, ubuntu

Review: 6 business-class Chromebooks test their mettle

I've spent the last three weeks taking six business-oriented Chromebooks through their paces. I started out as a skeptical Windows-rules-them-all kind of guy: I've been using Windows since the early days, and I've rarely strayed from the ghosts of my Windows masters. By the end of my Chromebook experiment, however, my old biases were shaken.

By Woody Leonhard | 11 December, 2014 03:17

Tags: Google, hardware systems

Android 5.0 deep-dive review: Exploring Lollipop's many layers

Its name may be filled with child-like whimsy, but don't be fooled: Google's Android 5.0 Lollipop release is all about the platform's move into maturity.

By JR Raphael | 14 November, 2014 22:35

Tags: consumer electronics, Google, Android, smartphones, mobile

Nexus 6 deep-dive review: A supersized smartphone that shines

The line between smartphones and tablets is officially gone.

By JR Raphael | 13 November, 2014 05:07

Tags: Motorola, consumer electronics, Google, smartphones, nexus

Nexus 9 deep-dive review: Bigger, but not necessarily better

I thought reviewing the Nexus 9 was going to be easy.

By JR Raphael | 06 November, 2014 22:41

Tags: Google, htc, hardware systems, tablets, Android Lollipop, nexus

CoreOS: A lean, mean virtualization machine

CoreOS is a slimmed-down Linux distribution designed for easy creation of lots of OS instances. We like the concept.

By Tom Henderson | 03 November, 2014 22:07

Tags: Amazon Web Services, Linux, Open Source Subnet, software, Red Hat, operating systems, ubuntu, rackspace, CoreOS, Docker, Google

Six browser plug-ins that protect your privacy

It's no stretch to say that ads are what make the Web go 'round. The content you're reading right now? Paid for by ads. Google, Facebook, Pandora, YouTube? Driven by ads. This is not a new concept: TV and radio have relied on commercials since their earliest days. Because, let's face it, something has to pay for all the free programming and services.

By Rick Broida | 17 October, 2014 21:43

Tags: Google, security, Pandora, data privacy, beca, disconnect, privacy, youtube, Facebook

Spec showdown: Google Nexus 6 vs. Samsung Galaxy Note 4

If you're on the lookout for a new Android smartphone with a big screen, the Motorola-manufactured Nexus 6 from Google and Samsung Electronics' Galaxy Note 4 are two hot possibilities.

By Mikael Ricknäs | 17 October, 2014 02:52

Tags: consumer electronics, Google, Samsung Electronics, Android, smartphones

Yosemite deep-dive review: OS X 10.10 gets ready for the big time

OS X 10.10, otherwise known as Yosemite, is the 11th iteration of the operating system that powers the desktops and laptops created by Apple. This update, expected to be released later today, marks the second version of OS X whose code name is based on a California location instead of a species of cat -- and the second time Apple has let loose a major update for free.

By Michael deAgonia | 16 October, 2014 23:36

Tags: Apple, Mac OS, Mac OS X, software, operating systems, Yosemite

Review: Surface Pro 3 isn't really what enterprises want in a laptop

There are a lot of good things to say about Microsoft's Surface Pro 3 tablet.

By Tim Greene | 11 October, 2014 00:11

Tags: Microsoft Subnet, Microsoft, hardware systems, intel

Windows 10 Technical Preview deep-dive: A promise of better things to come

It's been nearly a week since Microsoft announced that it will follow Windows 8.1 with Windows 10 -- and released its Technical Preview so that those interested could take a first look at the new operating system. Since then I've been exploring the new OS, alongside the sparse documentation Microsoft has released.

By Simon Bisson | 10 October, 2014 21:36

Tags: myer, Tesla, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft, Windows, Windows 10, software, operating systems

The best new features in Windows Server 10 (so far)

Alongside Microsoft's Oct. 1 release of the Windows 10 Technical Preview, the company offered early previews of the next iteration of Windows Server and System Center. With final releases not expected until the summer of 2015, these extremely early technical previews are a marked departure from the norm for Microsoft. Far from being feature complete or even stable, the Windows Server Technical Preview nevertheless presents a way to become familiar with new features coming down the pike, and to put the UI changes through their paces.

By Tim Ferrill | 08 October, 2014 21:06

Tags: windows server, Microsoft, Windows, software, operating systems

FIRST LOOK: Ray Ozzie's Talko cloud calling/messaging iPhone app

I never did use Ray Ozzie's Lotus Notes or Groove (acquired by Microsoft) collaboration tools, mainly because the companies I worked for didn't use them, though I have interviewed the famed software designer and watched his colorful career unfold over the years. So when Ozzie's latest venture, Talko, released its free calling/messaging app for iPhones today, I decided I would give it a whirl and rope my colleague, Michael Cooney, into testing it with me.

By Bob Brown | 24 September, 2014 07:14

Tags: smartphone, Lotus, mobile applications, Microsoft, iPhone, mobile, mobile apps

iOS 8 packs some snappy new features

It's almost fall again, and so Apple has released the next generation of software that powers its mobile lineup: iOS 8. As always, this is a free update, and it packs new features and enhancements, both obvious and subtle.

By Michael deAgonia | 18 September, 2014 02:16

Tags: Apple, iOS 8, telecommunication, applications, ios, Mobile OSes, mobile, Apple iOS

4 Windows tablet/keyboard combos take on the Surface Pro

Microsoft's Surface Pro 3 has gotten a lot of attention as a way to bridge the gap between tablets and traditional notebooks. Its snap-on keyboard and pull-out rear stand tries to offer the best of both worlds, but with a 12-in. screen and weighing 1.8 lbs. (without its keyboard cover), the Surface Pro is not as light as it could be, particularly for nomadic workers. And starting at $800 for a system equipped with an Intel i3 with 64GB plus $130 for the Type Cover, it is not an inexpensive system.

By Brian Nadel | 16 September, 2014 20:09

Tags: Windows, hardware systems, toshiba, tablets, software, Lenovo, operating systems, intel, acer, HP, Windows 8, Microsoft

Moto 360 review: An elegant smartwatch with exceptional features

My wrist has been attracting an inordinate amount of attention lately.

By JR Raphael | 15 September, 2014 22:43

Tags: Mobile & Wireless, Motorola, Apple, consumer electronics, Google, smartwatches, Best Buy

Kinvey boosts enterprise mobile apps

An MBaaS (mobile back end as a service) such as FeedHenry, Kinvey, or Parse is a kind of PaaS (platform as a service) for server-backed mobile applications. Kinvey bills itself as a complete mobile and Web app platform. It has extensive client support, integrates with the major enterprise databases, and offers a back-end data store, a file store, push notifications, mobile analytics, iBeacon support, and the ability to run custom code on the back end.

By Martin Heller | 10 September, 2014 23:36

Tags: software

Twitter Feed

Featured Whitepapers