Techworld

Software

CentOS 7: The perfect gift for the Linux do-it-yourselfer

Although differentiation is tough in Linux distributions today, CentOS 7 has carved out a niche as the free and open alter ego to Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL). We found that CentOS, which is mandated to be binary-compatible with Red Hat 7, shares about 95% of the features of its commercial enterprise-class sibling.

By Tom Henderson | 22 December, 2014 22:09

Tags: CoreOS, Linux, IBM, software, operating systems, Red Hat, ubuntu

Review: 6 business-class Chromebooks test their mettle

I've spent the last three weeks taking six business-oriented Chromebooks through their paces. I started out as a skeptical Windows-rules-them-all kind of guy: I've been using Windows since the early days, and I've rarely strayed from the ghosts of my Windows masters. By the end of my Chromebook experiment, however, my old biases were shaken.

By Woody Leonhard | 11 December, 2014 03:17

Tags: Google, hardware systems

Android 5.0 deep-dive review: Exploring Lollipop's many layers

Its name may be filled with child-like whimsy, but don't be fooled: Google's Android 5.0 Lollipop release is all about the platform's move into maturity.

By JR Raphael | 14 November, 2014 22:35

Tags: Google, consumer electronics, smartphones, Android, mobile

Nexus 6 deep-dive review: A supersized smartphone that shines

The line between smartphones and tablets is officially gone.

By JR Raphael | 13 November, 2014 05:07

Tags: Motorola, Google, consumer electronics, smartphones, nexus

Nexus 9 deep-dive review: Bigger, but not necessarily better

I thought reviewing the Nexus 9 was going to be easy.

By JR Raphael | 06 November, 2014 22:41

Tags: htc, Google, hardware systems, tablets, nexus, Android Lollipop

CoreOS: A lean, mean virtualization machine

CoreOS is a slimmed-down Linux distribution designed for easy creation of lots of OS instances. We like the concept.

By Tom Henderson | 03 November, 2014 22:07

Tags: Amazon Web Services, Linux, software, Open Source Subnet, operating systems, Red Hat, rackspace, ubuntu, CoreOS, Docker, Google

Six browser plug-ins that protect your privacy

It's no stretch to say that ads are what make the Web go 'round. The content you're reading right now? Paid for by ads. Google, Facebook, Pandora, YouTube? Driven by ads. This is not a new concept: TV and radio have relied on commercials since their earliest days. Because, let's face it, something has to pay for all the free programming and services.

By Rick Broida | 17 October, 2014 21:43

Tags: Google, Pandora, security, beca, data privacy, disconnect, Facebook, youtube, privacy

Spec showdown: Google Nexus 6 vs. Samsung Galaxy Note 4

If you're on the lookout for a new Android smartphone with a big screen, the Motorola-manufactured Nexus 6 from Google and Samsung Electronics' Galaxy Note 4 are two hot possibilities.

By Mikael Ricknäs | 17 October, 2014 02:52

Tags: Google, consumer electronics, smartphones, Android, Samsung Electronics

Yosemite deep-dive review: OS X 10.10 gets ready for the big time

OS X 10.10, otherwise known as Yosemite, is the 11th iteration of the operating system that powers the desktops and laptops created by Apple. This update, expected to be released later today, marks the second version of OS X whose code name is based on a California location instead of a species of cat -- and the second time Apple has let loose a major update for free.

By Michael deAgonia | 16 October, 2014 23:36

Tags: Apple, Mac OS, software, Mac OS X, Yosemite, operating systems

Review: Surface Pro 3 isn't really what enterprises want in a laptop

There are a lot of good things to say about Microsoft's Surface Pro 3 tablet.

By Tim Greene | 11 October, 2014 00:11

Tags: Microsoft Subnet, Microsoft, hardware systems, intel

Windows 10 Technical Preview deep-dive: A promise of better things to come

It's been nearly a week since Microsoft announced that it will follow Windows 8.1 with Windows 10 -- and released its Technical Preview so that those interested could take a first look at the new operating system. Since then I've been exploring the new OS, alongside the sparse documentation Microsoft has released.

By Simon Bisson | 10 October, 2014 21:36

Tags: myer, Tesla, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft, Windows, software, Windows 10, operating systems

The best new features in Windows Server 10 (so far)

Alongside Microsoft's Oct. 1 release of the Windows 10 Technical Preview, the company offered early previews of the next iteration of Windows Server and System Center. With final releases not expected until the summer of 2015, these extremely early technical previews are a marked departure from the norm for Microsoft. Far from being feature complete or even stable, the Windows Server Technical Preview nevertheless presents a way to become familiar with new features coming down the pike, and to put the UI changes through their paces.

By Tim Ferrill | 08 October, 2014 21:06

Tags: Microsoft, windows server, Windows, software, operating systems

FIRST LOOK: Ray Ozzie's Talko cloud calling/messaging iPhone app

I never did use Ray Ozzie's Lotus Notes or Groove (acquired by Microsoft) collaboration tools, mainly because the companies I worked for didn't use them, though I have interviewed the famed software designer and watched his colorful career unfold over the years. So when Ozzie's latest venture, Talko, released its free calling/messaging app for iPhones today, I decided I would give it a whirl and rope my colleague, Michael Cooney, into testing it with me.

By Bob Brown | 24 September, 2014 07:14

Tags: mobile applications, Lotus, smartphone, Microsoft, iPhone, mobile, mobile apps

iOS 8 packs some snappy new features

It's almost fall again, and so Apple has released the next generation of software that powers its mobile lineup: iOS 8. As always, this is a free update, and it packs new features and enhancements, both obvious and subtle.

By Michael deAgonia | 18 September, 2014 02:16

Tags: iOS 8, Apple, applications, telecommunication, ios, Mobile OSes, Apple iOS, mobile

4 Windows tablet/keyboard combos take on the Surface Pro

Microsoft's Surface Pro 3 has gotten a lot of attention as a way to bridge the gap between tablets and traditional notebooks. Its snap-on keyboard and pull-out rear stand tries to offer the best of both worlds, but with a 12-in. screen and weighing 1.8 lbs. (without its keyboard cover), the Surface Pro is not as light as it could be, particularly for nomadic workers. And starting at $800 for a system equipped with an Intel i3 with 64GB plus $130 for the Type Cover, it is not an inexpensive system.

By Brian Nadel | 16 September, 2014 20:09

Tags: hardware systems, Windows, Lenovo, software, tablets, toshiba, acer, intel, operating systems, HP, Windows 8, Microsoft

Moto 360 review: An elegant smartwatch with exceptional features

My wrist has been attracting an inordinate amount of attention lately.

By JR Raphael | 15 September, 2014 22:43

Tags: Motorola, Mobile & Wireless, Apple, Google, consumer electronics, smartwatches, Best Buy

Kinvey boosts enterprise mobile apps

An MBaaS (mobile back end as a service) such as FeedHenry, Kinvey, or Parse is a kind of PaaS (platform as a service) for server-backed mobile applications. Kinvey bills itself as a complete mobile and Web app platform. It has extensive client support, integrates with the major enterprise databases, and offers a back-end data store, a file store, push notifications, mobile analytics, iBeacon support, and the ability to run custom code on the back end.

By Martin Heller | 10 September, 2014 23:36

Tags: software

Review: Dell's 13G PowerEdge R730xd, a workhorse server with a kick

Hardware improvements, rich storage options, and plenty of room for expansion add up to a very fast, flexible 2U workhorse

By Paul Ferrill | 09 September, 2014 20:09

Tags: Configuration / maintenance, servers, Editor's Choice, Microsoft, storage, hardware systems, Storage Server, Data Center, VMware, Dell, computer hardware

Hands-on: WordPress 4.0 adds useful features to a rich platform

What do Flickr, TechCrunch, eBay and Best Buy all have in common?

By Ken Gagne | 05 September, 2014 05:57

Tags: cms, document management, flickr, applications, ebay, joomla, software, Best Buy, Content

FeedHenry uses Node.js to fortify mobile apps

A few years ago, the mobile enterprise application platform (MEAP) seemed to be the likely answer to the huge challenge of creating groups of mobile applications that work together and integrate with enterprise data. In hindsight, MEAP systems, which typically combined a back-end server and middleware stack with a client application, seem excessively expensive and heavyweight.

By Martin Heller | 04 September, 2014 00:39

Tags: application development, software

Top Whitepapers

Twitter Feed

Featured Whitepapers