Gmail detects potential recipient mistakes in group e-mails

The new feature is called "Got the wrong Bob?"

Google's Gmail webmail service can now detect if users have included a potentially incorrect recipient in an e-mail message they're sending to a group of people.

The new feature, called "Got the wrong Bob?," takes note of the people that a Gmail user usually includes in a group, and pops-up an alert if an unfamiliar recipient is included.

"Got the wrong Bob?" will be released on Tuesday with the Google Labs label, meaning it is considered to be an early stage prototype that could change significantly, become temporarily unavailable or even disappear without notice.

Gmail users interested in trying out the new feature can activate it by going to the Settings section of their account and clicking on the Labs tab, where they will see this new feature listed.

The feature complements another existing Labs feature for Gmail called "Suggest more recipients," which detects when a recipient usually included in a group e-mail has been left out and asks the e-mail sender if they forgot this person. That feature has now been renamed "Don't forget Bob."

The features are two of several that Google has designed to reduce the instances of embarrassing e-mail communications gaffes by Gmail users.

Join the newsletter!

Error: Please check your email address.

Tags GoogleGmail

More about Google

Show Comments
[]