Pirate Party announces four-state Senate tilt

Pirate Party Australia to stand in NSW, Queensland, Tasmania and Victoria

Pirate Party Australia, modelled after the European Pirate Party movement, has announced the pre-selection of Senate candidates in New South Wales, Queensland, Tasmania and Victoria.

Candidates were preselected in April.

In NSW the party secretary and its president, Brendan Molloy and David Campbell, will stand for the Senate. Melanie Thomas and Liam Pomfret will stand in Queensland, Joe Miles and Geoff Hammett will run in Victoria, and Thomas Randle will run in Tasmania.

A statement issued by the party said further candidates may be selected after a national congress in July.

In January the party announced it had successfully attained federal registration. The Australian Electoral Commission now includes Pirate Party Australia on its register of political parties.

The party's platform, yet to be finalised, includes support for civil liberties, advocacy of copyright reform, opposition to censorship and increased government transparency.

The party's creation was inspired by Sweden's Piratpartiet, which was formed in 2006. In 2009, members of the party were elected to the European parliament. A number of other European Pirate Parties have also achieved electoral success, including members of the Icelandic party winning three seats in parliament in April this year.

The Australian party is affiliated with Pirate Parties International.

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.

Tags Pirate Party

More about Australian Electoral Commission

Show Comments