Federal Government invests $5m for NBN-related council services

Senator Stephen Conroy has announced $5m in funding for 14 local government councils.

The Federal Government is investing over $5 million to help 14 local governments utilise National Broadband Network (NBN) enabled services.

Each local government will receive $375,000 in funding under the Digital Local Government program to deliver NBN-enabled services, such as high-definition video conferencing.

"High-definition videoconferencing over the NBN is a great way to bolster important frontline support delivered by councils, as well as other services that require significant consultation, like building and development applications," said senator Stephen Conroy, minister for broadband, communications and the digital economy.

"The NBN will also mean residents can participate more easily in town hall meetings and council workshops, without needing to travel long distances to be there in person. This is particularly relevant for Australians living in regional areas where the travel required can prohibit such engagement."

The 14 local government areas to receive funding include:

- Armidale Dumaresq Council (NSW) - Blacktown City Council (NSW) - Coffs Harbour City Council (NSW) - Circular Head Council (TAS) - Dorset Council (TAS) - George Town Council (TAS) - Glamorgan Spring Bay Council (TAS) - Sorell Council (TAS) - Ipswich City Council (QLD) - Toowoomba Regional Council (QLD) - City of Tea Tree Gully (SA) - City of Greater Geraldton (WA) - Town of Victoria Park (WA) - ACT Government (ACT)

Kiama Minicipal Council (NSW); Moreland City Council (VIC); and City of Onkaparinga (SA) have already received funding under the program.

Further funding under the Digital Local Government program will be announced later this year.

Follow Stephanie McDonald on Twitter: @stephmcdonald0

Follow Computerworld Australia on Twitter: @ComputerworldAU

Take part in the Computerworld conversation: LinkedIn: Computerworld Australia